Postpartum Resources

I am facilitating a postpartum preparation workshop tomorrow here in Duluth, and wanted to put together the resources I recommend for learning more.  I also hate printing things so wanted it here on the website for people to reference after coming to the workshop :)  I am available for postpartum consults and support as well, either to prepare for the postpartum or for actual help during the postpartum.  If you don't get to join me for this weekend's free workshop, I hope to catch you at another soon!  I have lots scheduled throughout the spring.

My favorite resource for most anything is Indie Birth at indiebirth.com where we have tons of free articles, podcasts, free consultations and more.  We also have an amazing 5 week online childbirth class that covers pregnancy, birth and the postpartum, so check that out.

Next, this resource list put together by the Lake Superior Birth Collective (which I'm a part of!) is a great starting point, and I am copy pasting some of the local postpartum specific information from there to here further down the page - http://www.lakesuperiorbirthcollective.com/resource-list-1/
 

Books

The First Forty Days: The Essential Art of Nourishing the New Mother by Heng OuAfter the Baby's Birth: A Complete Guide for Postpartum Women by Robin Lim

Placenta - The Forgotten Chakra by Robin Lim

After the Baby's Birth: A Complete Guide for Postpartum Women by Robin Lim

Natural Health After Birth: The Complete Guide to Postpartum Wellness by Aviva Romm

Naturally Healthy Babies and Children: A Commonsense Guide to Herbal by Aviva Romm


Podcasts

Creating Your Postpartum Plan  - http://www.indiebirth.com/the-sacred-postpartum-creating-your-plan-to-enjoy-the-weeks-after-birth/

10 Tips for an Amazing Postpartum - http://www.indiebirth.com/10-tips-amazing-postpartum/

A Close Look at the Early Postpartum - http://www.indiebirth.com/a-close-look-at-early-postpartum/

The Postpartum Body: How to Love Where You are At - http://www.indiebirth.com/the-postpartum-body-how-to-love-where-youre-at/

The Ancient Knowledge of the Postpartum with Rachelle Garcia Seliga - http://www.indiebirth.com/restoring-the-ancient-knowledge-of-the-postpartum-with-rachelle-garcia-seliga/

Preparing for a Peaceful Postpartum, with Julie Nitz and Your's Truly - http://www.indiebirth.com/preparing-peaceful-postpartum-julie-nitz/

Postpartum Body Recovering with Lisa Gillispie - http://www.indiebirth.com/postpartum-body-recovery-lisa-gillispie/

Videos

A video of an herbal bath and closing ceremony 

Another sealing ceremony video 

Video on using ayurveda in the postpartum 

Links/Articles

My favorite article to share with your support team - http://wisewomanwayofbirth.com/after-the-birth-what-a-family-needs/

A great article for dad and partners by a dad - http://betterbirthdoula.org/tips-for-new-dads-from-a-father-of-six/

30 minute audio on what partners, family and friends need to know about the postpartum! - https://www.anymeeting.com/WebConference/RecordingDefault.aspx?c_psrid=E059D9848949

An article I wrote about my postpartum experience - http://www.indiebirth.com/get-me-off-this-yoga-ball-reflections-on-the-fourth-trimester/

Excerpt from the book First Forty Days - https://www.thetot.com/mama/the-first-forty-days-the-essential-art-of-nourishing-the-new-mother/

Photos of postpartum bodies - http://thehonestbodyproject.com/?p=1047

Info about the Sacred Postpartum movement - https://www.sacredlivingmovement.com/the-art-of-sacred-postpartum

Local Resources

PLACENTA ENCAPSULATION

Duluth Placenta: Rachel Voigt. duluth-placenta.com. 262.365.4833.

First Place on Earth: Jesse Dykhuis (APPA). thefirstplaceonearth.com. 612.481.0830.

Lunula Duluth: Cooper Orth (IPPA). lunuladuluth.com. 715.497.7139.

POSTPARTUM DEPRESSION SUPPORT

Annie Choate: Birth & Postpartum Doula. Postpartum Support International Coordinator for the Duluth Area. ann_choate@yahoo.com. 218.310.2038.

Blair Hysjulien, LICSW: 915 Hammond Ave Suite 200 Superior, WI. rootedfolks.com.

Mary Ann Marchel, LGSW: Duluth Counseling Center 8 North 2nd Ave E Duluth, MN 55804. 218.935.1510.

Angie Adams, LPCC: North Shore Mental Health Services 324 W Superior Street Suite 911 Duluth, Minnesota 55802. 218.666.1565

POSTPARTUM DOULAS

Annie Choate: Postpartum Support International Coordinator for the Duluth Area. ann_choate@yahoo.com. 218.310.2038.

Cooper Orth: Postpartum Doula (IPPA). lunuladuluth.com. 715.497.7139. lunuladuluth@gmail.com.